Actions For Free Jazz


"Smalltown Superjazzz was a free-jazz subsidiary label to Smalltown Supersound from 2005-2012. The label has been dormant in the years 2012 to 2019, but is now reborn as the AFJ-Serie. The AFJ-Series represents a new start -- built on the foundation and heritage of the Superjazzz label. AFJ-Series is short for Actions for free jazz. This was the slogan for Smalltown Superjazzz and was borrowed at the time from Don Cherry & Krystzof Penderecki's The New Eternal Rhythm Orchestra track "Actions For Free Jazz Orchestra" from the 1971 album Actions. AFJ-Series is a series and a subsidiary label within Smalltown Supersound. AFJ-Series is proud to release this compilation which features music from 40 releases, spanning almost 20 years on Smalltown Supersound, Superjazzz and the AFJ-series. The idea with the compilation is to bring the Superjazzz era into the AFJ-Series, but also to leave it behind -- and start fresh. A requiem and rebirth combined. The idea came from Mats Gustafsson and was inspired by the famous 1964 ESP-Disk' sampler, which with its hard edit approach has become a classic in its own right. The task of selecting, editing and structuring the material was given to Lasse Marhaug, who has been part of the Smalltown family for more than 20 years. Marhaug spent months plowing through the entire catalogue, and while the main goal was to give a total overview of Smalltown's wide range of releases in the improvised/jazz/free music field, Marhaug's choices and juxtapositions almost plays as a new piece of music. So here it is -- 40 tracks of total freedom. Or the universality in music of improvisation as Derek Bailey called it." Features Thurston Moore & Mats Gustafsson, Evan Parker & Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, The Thing, The Thing with Ken Vandermark, Ken Vandermark & Paal Nilssen-Love, Two Bands and a Legend, Peter Brötzmann & Paal Nilssen-Love, Christian Marclay & Mats Gustafsson, Free Fall, Joe McPhee & Paal Nilssen-Love, The Thing & Cato Salsa Experience, Offonoff, Lean Left, Kieran Hebden & Steve Reid &Mats Gustafsson, Diskaholics Anonymous, Yoshimi & Mats Gustafsson, Free Fall, Mats Gustafsson & Paal Nilssen-Love, Peter Brötzmann & Mats Gustafsson &Paal Nilssen-Love, The Thing with Otomo Yoshihide, Original Silence, Diskaholics Anonymous Trio & Mats Gustafsson &Sonic Youth with friends, Peter Brötzmann Chicago Tentet, The Thing with Jim O'Rourke, Paal Nilssen-Love & Håkon Kornstad, Aotearoa Snuff Jazz Sextet, Joe McPhee & Lasse Marhaug, EYE & Mats Gustafsson.