Panorama Pacifico

ESK 507585 ESK 507585

2021 repress on color vinyl. Double LP version. Electropop darlings Satin Jackets (German producer Tim Bernhardt and lead performer Den Ishu) unveil their debut artist album, Panorama Pacifico, featuring a string of cameos from vocalists jetting in from LA, Berlin, London, Belgium, and Australia. Scaling the heights of the Hype Machine right from their first release and clocking up almost ten million plays on Spotify, the duo deals in an original brand of diva funk and smooth disco that has whetted the taste buds of the likes of Majestic Casual and i-D (the latter of which called the duo's work "super sexy, infectious house music thats filled with the vibe of summertime"). Their smash single, "You Make Me Feel Good," has accumulated close to three million plays on SoundCloud and YouTube at the time of this release, while their eponymous live show has relentlessly toured the US, Canada, Mexico, and Europe, opening their fluid pop appeal and accessible four-to-the-floor groove up to the world at large. Bernhardt recalls the origins of their debut album: "The idea came from our character, Mr. Satin Jackets, who's been travelling the world quite a bit the past two years. Four continents, about twenty countries, he's on the West Coast and takes a break. He watches the ocean to put his mind at ease and . . . Panorama Pacifico." This idyllic perspective is launched by the vocals of Scavenger Hunt, the Los Angeles-based electropop four-piece who have been charted by Billboard and featured by the likes of Nylon, while Nigeria-born, Birmingham-based UoB's Got Talent winner IsaacO contributes to "Keep Moving On." The album also takes a peek into the past successes of Satin Jackets, with 2015's smash single "Shine On You" featuring UK-born, Berlin-based talent Esser (which Clash called "an exploratory glimpse into the mind-expanding side of Satin Jackets' electronics") and 2016 single "We Can Talk" featuring vocals from Emma Brammer. Further collaborators include Ghent-based collective I will, I swear; Melbourne's Kids At Midnight; and Belgian pop diamonds-in-the-rough Marble Sounds. Fellow Eskimo artist and Greek producer NTEIBINT and KLP from Australia also feature. Three-quarters of the tracks are fresh and introduce exciting guest vocalists and producers. These are complemented by the duo's much-loved staples, "Girl, Forever" and "You Make Me Feel Good."