Onda Nova


Since the release of his two first albums on Favorite Recordings, Lucas Arruda has quickly established himself as one of the most talented young artist and composer from Brazil. His music is filled with a fusion of style, mixing influences and elements from his Latin musical background, with his genuine admiration for jazz, soul, pop, and funk music. In spring 2015, it was also not surprising to find Lucas Arruda back with a new LP called SOLAR (FVR 100CD/LP), receiving great support and feedback from international media and tastemakers. One of the highlights of the album was the song "Melt The Night", on which Lucas teamed up with legendary producer Leon Ware, reminding listeners of Ware's collaborations in the '80s with Marcos Valle when they perfectly merged together the sophisticated boogie and AOR touch from California, with the blazing sense of rhythm from Brazil. Favorite Recordings present Onda Nova, the third album by Lucas Arruda. Mostly written, composed and arranged by himself, Lucas however teams up on a few tracks with his old mate Fabricio di Monaco (Modo Solar), his brother and musical partner Thiago Arruda, who recently joined Ed Motta's live band, or Gaël Benyamin, aka Geyster, who brings his longtime "savoir-faire" and skills for writing and composing AOR and west coast music genre, and who share this deep passion with Lucas. Onda Nova is therefore pursuing the music direction set with SOLAR, mixing blue-eyed-soul, pop, soul, and Brazilian styles together, and influenced by the path of legendary Brazilian producer Lincoln Olivetti, who recorded some of the biggest stars of Brazilian music (Marcos Valle, Jorge Ben, Tim Maia). In Lucas words: "In this record I really wanted to honor Robson Jorge and Lincoln Olivetti. They are the main influence on this record. We recorded the basic tracks for the album in the same studio that Lincoln Olivetti did his last works. So, this was very important to capture the true essence of Brazilian Funk/AOR tradition. Hope you guys enjoy it!" CD version includes a bonus track.