Upon You Diary No. 1

UY 001CD UY 001CD

In just a few years' time, Berlin's Upon You has established itself as a leading figure in European club culture, not just as a label for its 35+ well received 12" EPs, but also for its curated nights at world-renowned spots like Berghain, Watergate and Arena Club. With their combined experience of producing, DJing and promoting, company founders Marco Resmann, Marcus Meinhardt and Hawks Grunert have formed a powerhouse whose momentum shows no signs of slowing down. In spite of (and perhaps because of) its unpigeonhole-able stylistic approach, Upon You has become a respected source for all DJs and clubbers in search of forward-thinking sounds, and now with its first full-length compilation, the label offers a succinct overview for both followers and newcomers. Upon You Diary No. 1 has been compiled by Marco Resmann (half of Luna City Express) and is split into two parts: the first features 13 new, exclusive tracks from the label's roster including The Cheapers, Re-UP, ONNO and Mathias Mesteño. The second part, showcasing Resmann's dynamic DJ ability, is meticulously stitched together using elements of 25 tracks from Upon You's back catalog, including contributions by Holger Zilske, Catz 'n Dogz, Mathias Kaden, Luna City Express, and many other respected names. On the surface, the artists on Diary No. 1 clearly follow the tradition of techno and house music, but it's clear that many of them use these forms as merely a starting point for further auditory exploration. From tropical acid and tribal grooves to somber dub and hypnotic minimal, it's clear that Upon You doesn't hold any purist attitudes, and in fact, cross-pollination is encouraged: check Channel X's be-bop hoedown "Rodeo" and the laid-back blue-eyed funk of "Together" by Marek Hemmann. Diary serves as both an up-to-date survey of Upon You in 2010 as well as a reflection on its origins, with the knowledge that there are many blank pages to be filled out. The compilation is available as an elegantly packaged 2CD set and as a digital download. Other artists include: Echonomist, Deepa & Biri, Marcus Gehring, Soucie Six, Acumen, Gunner Stiller, Fabian Reichelt, SiD, Chesperito, Phage, The Incredible Hochzeitsband, Santorini, Mz. Sunday Luv, Lee Jones & Daniel Dreier, Superflu, Empro & Miko, Guido Schneider & Jens Bond, OEL & Polygon and Ruede Hagelstein.