YoplaBoum + Permanent Wave

ET 923-08LP ET 923-08LP

Third release by the Maciunas Ensemble on Edition Telemark after 1976 (ET 314-07LP, 2015) and the self-titled 50th anniversary LP from 2018 (ET 785-08LP). The group had been founded in Eindhoven, The Netherlands, in 1968 with the aim of realizing the score Music for Everyman by Fluxus initiator George Maciunas, which they interpreted as allowing total freedom in the sounds being produced. The group met regularly, usually once a week during their heyday, and improvised on instruments that were at hand. Every session was recorded to be played back and discussed before the next session. This method meant that small changes and subtle new ideas could be integrated from one session to the next, eventually leading into completely new directions over a longer course. Paul Panhuysen linked this approach to the oral traditions of folk music. One of their most productive periods were the early 1980s where, after settling on a stable line-up of Paul Panhuysen, Jan van Riet, Leon van Noorden and Mario van Horrik, the group developed their own brand of minimalist rhythmic music, inspired in equal parts by rock, post-punk, drone and minimal music of the time. A selection of named pieces had crystallized from the improvised sessions that were worked on and refined, many of them having long durations and featuring wordless vocals by Paul Panhuysen that added another unique rhythmic layer to the music. Phill Niblock, while visiting the ensemble's home base Het Apollohuis in Eindhoven, called some of these pieces "rhythmic drones", drones produced by repetitive rhythmic strokes, simultaneously on various instruments. Some recordings from this period can be heard on the LP Music for Everyman 861 (1986, Apollo Records) and the self-titled LP. Virtually unknown until now have been five more pieces that were released by the band in 1983 and 1984 on two cassettes named YoplaBoum and Permanent Wave. They are re-released here for the first time, with a double LP featuring the whole YoplaBoum cassette -- the 43-minute title piece split across the first two sides, the two others on sides C and D -- and a CD including the two tracks from Permanent Wave. Single sleeve with two printed inner sleeves featuring liner notes by Leon van Noorden and Mario van Horrik, and a selection of photos and artwork from the period; includes CD in cardboard sleeve; edition of 300.