Musica Libre - Dinky In The Mix


This is the first mix CD from Alejandra Iglesias aka Dinky on the Cocoon label. Dinky is not a stranger to the scene, especially since her sensational 12" for Cocoon Recordings Acid In My Fridge. She has run the Horizontal label since 2005, where she releases -- besides her own, often experimental tracks -- music from Matthew Styles, Jambi, Andres Bucci and more. "The mix is rather a non-conventional mix, as there are many unreleased tracks from friends and artists that I deeply admire, like Bruno Pronsato, Matthew Styles and The Mole, as well as some tracks from ladies I really love musically, like Nina Kraviz, Laverne Radix or Deniz Kurtel who provide an extra feminine touch. I also assembled different styles, so it is like a three-hour-set condensed to one hour. The idea is to show as much freedom in dance music as possible -- the mix is not solely intended for the club or a big room, but is focused on the most intimate club, after-hour and warm-up moments with a strong emphasis on atmosphere. Emotion, femininity and depth are very important for me as an artist. I also try to keep the mix very modern, almost avant garde and visual, with new sounds and cutting edge tracks but without missing the club groove. As DJs, we usually feel we need to please hundreds or thousands of people in a club or at festivals. We have the pressure to make the ravers dance, scream and raise their hands frantically. Of course, we are in the club to party -- but I feel and wish that sometimes we would try to be more brave and show the other side of the coin, which I will try to do with this project. This 'rave alarm pressure' is limiting us too much as artists and keeps us afraid of playing the most challenging, deep and beautiful music, as we are afraid of losing the floor. I wanted to get rid of this fear on this mix and show another side of dance music." --Dinky, January 2010; Other artists include: Odd Machine, Maayam Nidam, Demarkus Lewis, Vlad Caia, Soulcapsule, No Regular Play, The Updates, Danuel Tate, Tensnake, Blunted Dummies, Pedro, Seuil, Ricardo Villalobos, and Pier Bucci.