Vagabundos 2013


Vagabundos, the DJ, club and event collective from Luciano's Cadenza stable, returns for its biggest year yet. Holding fort every Sunday at Ibiza's Pacha club in recent years, as well as hugely successful events in London, Chile, Bucharest, New York, Tokyo, Naples, and more, the Vagabundos parties have become the stuff of legend, earning them numerous accolades of "Best Ibiza Night" and most recently (jointly with Richie Hawtin's Enter parties) by the Ibiza DJ Awards 2012. And so the collective re-group for what promises to be a huge 12 months, and kickstarting it all is this double mix album from two of the Vagabundos DJs; Andrea Oliva and Argy, joining together to mix a superb two hours plus of Vagabundos vibes. Taking a disc each, Argy gets straight down to business, maintaining the energy already set by Oliva. A short intro from Richie Hawtin's Plastikman project paves the way for a bumpin' selection of music from the likes of Nathan Baratto, DJ Sneak and Radio Slave, always mixed with the assured, quick style that makes an Argy DJ set well worth the investment. As the mixes flow, the music gets decidedly tougher, showing Argy's techno sensibilities with tracks and remixes from heavyweights like Kink (the blissful breakbeats of his collaboration with Marc Romboy), Christian Smith, Robert Hood, Technasia, and Argy himself, culminating in the rather beautiful DJ Sprinkles remix of June's "Lost Area," before a "one last tune" effort from the original '90s house of Harmony Funk. Oliva's mix starts lightly with the deeper sounds of Shlomi Aber and quickly locks into a groove with some of the finest house music on the block from artists like Nick Curly, Dan Ghenacia, Todd Terry (under his House Of Gypsies guise), and Loco Dice. The pace doesn't drop for one minute, showcasing Oliva's always on-point style and dedication to a good groove. The mix builds to a crescendo of Oliva's own remix of Luciano's "Rise of Angel" and into one of electronic music's most classic contemporary pieces, the classic "Knights of the Jaguar" by DJ Rolando. Other artists include: YMC, Per Hammar, Andrade, Bjorn Wolf & Youri Donatz, Mike Dunn, Sante, The Deepshakerz, DJ Jesus, Butch, Jordan Peak, Jay Lumen, Coyu, Boys Noize, Franck Roger, Andrea Oliva & Egal 3, Kodac, Julian Perex, Waff, Mark Henning, George Fitzgerald, Deetron, and Ian Pooley.